Review: A Court of Wings and Ruin by Sarah J Maas

Title: A Court of Wings and Ruin

Author: Sarah J. Maas

Rating: 5/5 Stars

“It’s a rare person to face who they are and not run from it – not be broken by it.”

Synopsis: Feyre has returned to the Spring Court, determined to gather information on Tamlin’s maneuverings and the invading king threatening to bring Prythian to its knees. But to do so she must play a deadly game of deceit-and one slip may spell doom not only for Feyre, but for her world as well.

As war bears down upon them all, Feyre must decide who to trust amongst the dazzling and lethal High Lords-and hunt for allies in unexpected places.

So, as a preface – I may be slightly biased towards this series. A Court of Thorns and Roses: I loved. A Court of Mist and Fury: I danced around the house gushing about how much I loved. So, you can rightly imagine just how excited I was to have this book in my hands.

And drum roll please …. it delivered!

A Court of Mist and Fury is THE BEST second book in a trilogy I have ever read (there seems to be a second book curse in the world?) It perfectly expanded on what had happened in the previous books, the great thing about this series being that it keeps moving its characters and plot on wards and never gets stuck or stagnated (yeah sorry I am looking at you ‘Empire of Storms’.

I was so glad to see some intense battle scenes in this installment! I found the descriptions of my beloved Illyrian warriors actually fighting, as I have always known they can, enthralling.

Confession: My heart is beyond happy at the outcomes for Lucian in this book. I love my Lord of Foxes.

There are some predictable tropes I am glad that Sarah J. Maas didn’t include. (Kinda spoilers ahead, I guess?). For one, I actually thanked the heavens that she didn’t have a ‘Feyre is pregnant’ scene. I know, I know, some will disagree! Each to their own! Secondly, I was not disappointed by the lack of showdown between Tamlin and Feyre. I know a lot of readers were hoping for some explanations/apologies between the two of them. BUT. Feyre does not owe anyone an apology. Period. ALSO. Feyre is not the perfect bad ass that always has a quip or retort for everything. She is more real than that. She is allowed to be rendered speechless by her memories and I think this adds a lot to her character.

Some negatives. Because, you know, you gotta have them, balanced views and all that jazz. I find Sarah J. Maas’ writing of ‘intimate’ scenes very cringe. I understand this may just be an element of new adult that I’m not entirely down with, and not because I’m not into that but because I’m a believer in calling a spade a spade! I feel much simpler descriptions can have a much better reading experience in some scenes. I also find that the constant ‘coupling off’ of characters in Sarah J. Maas books gets a little OTT. I don’t know about you, but I have lots of single friends. It is totally okay for women to not have a love interest.

Anyways, I’m going to stop there because I could rant on and on forever about this book (and honestly you would find that horribly annoying, trust me.)

I loved it. I loved it. I loved it.

Abby ❤

P.S. I pre-ordered ‘The YA Chronicles’ ACOWAR box and received lots of goodies. If you want to see what was in there check out the pics on my instagram! It was awesome!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

