Top Five Wednesday: Characters You Defend

Top Five Wednesday was created by Lainey over at Gingerreadslainey. There is a goodreads group so if you would like to check it out and create your own ‘Top Five Wednesday’ click here!

Hey Guys, it’s been a while!

This weeks ‘Top Five Wednesday’ is ‘characters you defend’. Now I’ve said this before, but I really don’t have to defend any characters in real life (as my friends don’t read the books I do, if at all) but these are characters I feel may need a little defending!

Also, these could really read in any order, that’s too much decision making for me.

5. Eadlyn – The Heir by Keira Cassk2-_bd8fa44c-1e66-4c81-864f-28cd9965d1b9-v1

Now this one, I’ve seen a lot of hate for. I get it, I really do. Eadlyn is spoiled and nothing like her Mother who we love and admire. But isn’t that kind of the point? Eadlyn grew up as a princess, with little to concern her (apart from you know, being Queen someday). I think if I was a princess who had seen little of the outside world and had people waiting on my beck and call, I’d be a little bit of a brat too. The story is all the more better for the fact that she is a flawed character. Shes not the perfect, self-sacrificing princess. She is a little bit selfish and that is altogether realistic.

4. Draco Malfoy (You know the reference)

It’s taken9781408855706_309035 me a long time to come to grips with this one. Younger me hated Draco Malfoy, he was a snobbish, arrogant bully. Of course, he still is a snobbish, arrogant bully but now I can kind of forgive him for it. I really believe that people are a product of their parenting, environment and social development (not always, of course). Draco spent the first eleven years of his life rubbing elbows with his fathers death eater friends in a mansion full of the dark arts, watching his family mistreat their house elf (and probably everyone else).

In the end, his choice wasn’t really to support Voldemort, but more to stick with his family no matter what and I can relate to that.

3. Magnus – Falling Kingdoms series by Morgan Rhodes 18668021-_uy200_

I feel Magnus actually gets a fair amount of love. I also feel that anyone that loves Magnus like I do probably has felt the need to defend him a time or two. Granted, he’s a bit weird at times and has his fair share of dark moments. The power of reading is that as a reader we get to see the real Magnus, to read between the lines of what he says and does and know that there is a some good in him, he just chooses to show it in unconventional ways.

2. Chaol Westfall – Throne of Glass series by Sarah J Maas

I want t9781619630345o make my self clear, I by no means ship Chaol and Celaena. I never have. I will say though that Chaol gets a lot of grief for his treatment of Celaena in the later books. Which is kind of fair but also, Celaena lied to him the whole time she knew him. She was a murdering assassin and he is Captain of the Guard. His one purpose is to protect the Prince, his best friend and from his point of view she really is a threat. Also, its not fair to hold him to the love he had for Celaena, because Aelin Ashryver is in many ways a completely different person. So basically, I still love Chaol, and he deserves to find his someone.

  1. Bianca Piper – The Duff by Kody Keplingerduff-200

I love ‘The Duff’! I am not a lover of contemporary at all, I detest the ‘manic pixie dream girl’ stereotype that you see in so many contemporary novels at the minute. (Come to think of it, is The Duff a contemporary? Let me know,
genres confuse me). The Duff is a fun premise with realistic, down to earth characters and situations. Yes, it can be a bit dark. Yes, she basically sleeps with someone repeatedly to block out her problems. This is real, and some people may not enjoy reading about issues like the ones presented in The Duff which I totally understand. Bianca does not act perfectly, but who can honestly say they’ve always responded perfectly to life’s big problems?

 

So those are the characters I would defend to the death, do you agree? Who is a character that you find yourself defending? Let me know in the comments!

Abby ❤

 

Leave a Reply

