Review: A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J Maas

“I was not a pet, not a doll, not an animal.
I was a survivor, and I was strong.
I would not be weak, or helpless again
I would not, could not be broken. Tamed.”

Image-1 (3)

 

 

Title: A
Court of Mist and Fury

Author: Sarah J Maas

Page Count: 640

Rating: 5/5 stars

 

 

So I may or may not have been putting off writing a review for this book. This is because I simply am not sure I can do my feelings justice using words which do not allow for rapid hand movements, squealing or jumping up and down. So if you could just imagine all of that whilst you read, you’ll get a much clearer idea.

First of all, this is the first time in a long, long time that I have read a book until very late at night, gone to sleep, and then woken up very early to finish said book. This is a 640 page book and I finished it in two sittings! Two! Suffice to say, I was pretty much a zombie at work the next day but it was undeniably worth it.

Okay, I had liked A Court of Thorns and Roses very much, I even reread it a couple of times. I was kind of worried about the second book curse and that I would be disappointed. Never have I ever had my expectations so thoroughly blown out of the water. ACOMAF was a hundred times better than ACOTAR and I had not thought that was possible! I was so wrong!

First of all, no spoilers, but the story moves in exactly the way that I had hoped in my deepest darkest hidden wishes (meaning I kind of didn’t know what I wanted until it happened.)

I had wondered where the story was going to go, there aren’t a heap of characters in ACOTAR to play with the storyline. Then Sarah J Maas goes and introduces a whole new group of characters who are all so incredibly well written! There is absolutely nothing overdone about ACOMAF. The character development is so subtle yet so thorough that I could read between the lines of every character interaction and know what was going on in their heads at the time. This is so rare! Side characters are usually just that, but each of the new people introduced are completely rich, flawed and yet perfect all at the same time.

The world building in ACOMAF is epic. I haven’t wanted to live in a fantasy world so badly since my first read of Harry Potter. Yes I did the unthinkable. I compared a book to Harry Potter (which I hate when people do). But the Night Court! Oh my Goodness, this is where words fail me because wow. I think that’s pretty much all I can say on that point.

The whole book was a roller coaster – my heart was beating out my chest for the entire read- but O.M.G that ending. The ending literally left me reeling, I had to read it again just to get my head around the words because I wasn’t able to think clearly over the sound of my heart exploding.

Basically, this is one of my all time favorite books now. I wanted to turn back to page one as soon as I had finished (damn work) and literally almost had a break down realizing that I had to wait for the third book.

For me the sign that this book was unbelievable was that I could not stop talking about it. For at least a week. You see, I hardly ever talk about books I read to people in my everyday life. My boyfriend probably knows the whole plot by now I’ve gushed to him that much. My colleagues at work all knew that the reason i’d been sleep that day was because I’d read an amazing book, a book about fairies and night courts. I told them that. I would never normally put myself out there like that, but I could not help myself.

I think that’s enough incomprehensible babbling so I’ll just say; do yourself a favor and read this series!

 

Abby ❤

 

Leave a Reply

