Top Five Wednesday: Best Suggested Books

Top Five Wednesday was created by Lainey over at Gingerreadslainey. There is a goodreads group so if you would like to check it out and create your own ‘Top Five Wednesday’ click here!

I’ve missed a couple of Top Five Wednesdays but am jumping back into it with my top five suggested books that I have loved. Most of these are suggestions from booktubers or instagram as I don’t get many real life book recommendations that I trust! As well as being books that I love, these are all out of my comfort zone and not something I would have picked up without help, so I am extra grateful for the suggestion!

5. The Help by Kathryn Stockett

9780241956533

I cannot remember for the life of me who suggested this book to me but I remember it was when I was thinking about watching the movie. I wouldn’t normally pick up a book like this to read for enjoyment but I found that I loved it!

 

 

 

 

61aipbbnlzl-_sl1168_

4. Trainspotting by Irvine Welsh

This was not strictly a suggestion but it was on my recommended extra reading list when I studied my English Literature A level. Our theme was ‘struggle for identity’ and I was intrigued to find this on the last nestled between books about racial oppression, gender inequality, Russian gulags and child abuse (it was not a cheerful semester I’ tell you). I needed to know why this was on the list and it did not disappoint. I feel you need to go into this book with an open mind, some parts definitely made me feel a bit weird but it was without a doubt a fantastic read!

3. Ms. Marvel

20898019

 

I had seen a few suggestions for this graphic novel (which I know is not technically a book, but we’ll just ignore that technicality) on a few of my favorite YouTube channels. This was my first (and only to now) graphic novel and I devoured it. The writing and artwork are fun and fast paced and there is a peculiar mix of the mundane and the spectacular which makes the story believable and easy to relate to. Basically I love it!

I believe I saw this suggestion from Emily at The Blue Eyed Biblio so check out her blog or youtube!

 

2. Crazy Rich Asians by Kevin Kwan9781760110406

I would never in a million years have picked up this book if it wasn’t suggested! Again, I have no idea who suggested it as I have a terrible memory so, apologies.

Crazy Rich Asians is about exactly what it says on the cover. Ridiculously, shamelessly, over the top, crazy rich Asians. The story starts (spoiler alert) with a lady BUYING a hotel because a concierge is rude to her!

It’s absolutely hilarious and you should definitely read it!

1.Simon VS The Homo Sapiens Agenda

195478561

Taking the top spot is, of course, Simon. I very rarely read contemporary. I am very often

disappointed by recommended contemporaries (I’m looking at you Fangirl). This book gave me all the feels! Cold, stone-hearted me! The characters are so lifelike and the dialogue is exactly as it would be (and should be) in high school. Plus, its laugh out loud funny, sit on the edge of your seat exciting and all round awesome.

Did I mention Simon is my best friend? Yeah, he says hi.

 

So there are my top five best suggested books and this is me officially suggesting that you hunt them down, read them and love them! You know, if you want to.

Thanks for being here!

Abby ❤

 

Leave a Reply

