Harry Potter Spells Book-tag

I came across this Harry Potter Spells Book-Tag (because I spend way too much time on the internet) and had to do it! I’ve used some spells from other posts and also added a couple of my own. 

This tag was created by @KimberleyFaye Reads so head over to check out her original post! 

  1. EXPECTO PATRONUM: A childhood book connected to happy memories. 

potter1

Harry Potter and the Philosophers Stone by J K Rowling

How could I not have Harry Potter as this one? I still remember the first time I picked up a Harry Potter book (The Chamber of Secrets because my 8 year old self didn’t understand the order of a series.) I would read Harry Potter during every summer holiday in anticipation for the next book, and my copies have the various ice cream stains to prove it.

 

2. EXPELLIARMUS: A book that took you by surprise.cinder

Cinder by Marissa Meyer

I have to mention The Lunar Chronicles for this one. I was really not expecting to like these books, I think because I’d recently been really let down by a lot of over hyped books. However, this series restored my faith in the book community’s awesome recommendations because it was fantastic! I have only read Cinder and Scarlet so far but both were one sitting reads.

3. PRIOR INCANTATUM: The last book you read.
14061955

Siege and Storm by Leigh Bardugo

I’m cheating here because this is my current read, not my last read but I didn’t want to double up so there you go. Siege and Storm hasn’t quite gripped me as much as Shadow and Bone but so far I’m enjoying the continuation of the story.

 

 

 

4. ALOHAMORA: A book which introduced you to a genre that you hadn’t considered before. pride-and-prejudice_bn

Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen

It was a few years ago now, but Pride and Prejudice was probably my first venture into the classics genre and I haven’t looked back since! I probably don’t read as many classics as I would like because they take so much longer but Pride and Prejudice is still one of my all time favourites.

5. SONORUS: A book you think everybody should know about. 

Reckless 10830285Magic by Rachel Higginson

Reckless Magic is one book that I love that I have never seen mentioned in the bookstagram or booktube communities. I love this series! It may not be a masterpiece of literature but I absolutely raced through them and have reread several times. They are hard to get a hold of the physical copies but download the ebook! You won’t regret it. (Or maybe you will, in which case – my bad!)

 

6. IMPERIO: A book you read for school. 38447

The Handmaids Tale by Margaret Atwood

One of the books we read at school was The Handmaids Tale, I remember finding it extremely weird, especially when I had to blushingly read out loud to the class. Since then, I have my own copy and now find the story outright terrifying.

7. PETRIFICUS TOTALUS: A book you read in one sitting. 

51vggi3rz0l-_sy344_bo1204203200_

Rebel Spring by Morhan Rhodes

I have read loads of books in one sitting (see above for the Lunar Chronicles) but most recently I would say Rebel Spring. This is the second book in the Falling Kingdoms series and I enjoyed this one even more than the first. I am itching to grab the third book!

 

 

8. CRUCIO: A book that caused you pain.

the book thiefThe Book Thief by Markus Zusac

I read The Book Thief after I watched the movie, so I was already prepared for the pain. The book though, it just tears you apart! It tears you apart and yet I loved every minute of it. Strange.

9. CONFUNDUS: A book with a plot twist.

164296191 The Kiss of Deception by Mary E. Pearson

The Kiss of Deception. Deception. Maybe the clue was in the title, but I was happily reading along with absolutely no expectation of a massive plot twist when WHAM. It hit me. I had to re-read a couple of pages because the world was suddenly on its head and I just did not understand! I figured it out eventually, and really need to read Heart of Betrayal!

 

10. ENGORGIO: A book which has more than 600 pages. 41o0ytpl3hl-_sx300_bo1204203200_

Vanity Fair by William Makepeace Thackeray

I’m currently plodding my way through Vanity Fair. It has upwards of 800 pages and I have only read around 150 of them! It is going to be a long term battle I think, but I am enjoying it! My goal was to aim to read more classics this year but I think maybe I should have selected a shorter one for starters!

2 thoughts on “Harry Potter Spells Book-tag

Leave a Reply

