Top Five Wednesday: Disappointing Eye Candy

Top Five Wednesday was created by Lainey over at Gingerreadslainey. There is a goodreads group so if you would like to check it out and create your own ‘Top Five Wednesday’ click here!

So this weeks topic (and my first topic!) is ‘Disappinting Eye Candy;’ basically a book with has a beautiful cover but is awful. Of course, when I say awful, what I really mean is that I didn’t enjoy it personally. One of these books might be your favorite book of all time, so if that’s the case – I’m sorry!

5. A Thousand Pieces of You by Claudia Gray

17234658 Now don’t get me wrong, this book is by no means terrible and I actually did find some parts entertaining. However, would you just look at that cover? That cover is a masterpiece which deserves so so much more! I think my main problem with this story is how easily the main character falls in and out of love. The dimension travel to different worlds was really well executed but I think that if I were travelling through dimensions to avenge my parents murder, I might spend a little less time worrying about boys. Just saying.

 

 

4. The Jewel by Amy Ewing

16068780So this is another beautiful cover, going with the trend of girls in pretty dresses. And yet, I don’t think the protagonist actually wears a pretty dress such as this one? I can’t be 100% sure because I sped read this and it didn’t leave any lasting impression. I won’t give away any spoilers but can anyone say insta-love?

 

 

3. The Rest of Us Just Live Here by Patrick Ness

patrick ness.jpg

I have to say, I took a blow with this one. This book is the definition of eye candy! With it’s hardcover and its blue page edges *sigh*. I was super stoked to read this as I hadn’t read any Patrick Ness and had heard such great things! Unfortunately, the story fell short for me and I couldn’t finish it. I found it to be a parody of YA like those movies. You know the ones- ‘Scary Movie’, ‘The Starving Games’ etc. I hate those movies.

 

 

2. Fire and Flood by Victoria Scott

fire-flood-cover

I purchased this one purely based on seeing it around on Instagram and booktube. The story sounded promising but the execution and the writing made me cringe. Following the theme of some of the above, the insta-love was ever present and I just can’t get past that. I don’t believe that in life threatening situations, you really focus on how pretty some guys eyes are. Can we please have more female protagonists that don’t need a love interest?

 

  1. Black Ice by Becca Fitzpatrick 

7b8d3f5ed8-9913-4bfc-adf1-7b6bb58ac7547dimg400

I picked up this book because I’ve loved Becca Fitzpatrick’s previous writing and also because the cover was super intriguing. The story was promising at first, leading me to believe it was going to be an edge of the seat thriller. Then (spoiler alert!) the main character starts making love-eyes at her kidnapper and I shut the book immediately.  I know, I know the dangerous bad guy is always appealing, but nope – not this time!

 

2 thoughts on “Top Five Wednesday: Disappointing Eye Candy

Leave a Reply

