Review: Vicious by V.E Schwab

The moments that define lives aren’t always obvious. They don’t scream LEDGE, and nine times out of ten there’s no rope to duck under, no line to cross, no blood pact, no official letter on fancy paper. They aren’t always protracted, heavy with meaning. Between one sip and the next, Victor made the biggest mistake of his life, and it was made of nothing more than one line. Three small words.

519y6cl1lbl-_sx325_bo1204203200_

Title: Vicious

Author: Victoria Schwab

Page Count: 340

Rating: 5/5 stars

 

 

 

 

 

I chose ‘Vicious’ to be my first read of 2016 and my God, what a way to start! The premise had me hooked from the get go: college roommates develop extraordinary abilities before becoming mortal enemies. I won’t give any more away, really you just need to read it!

The writing flips between time points, revealing tidbits of information vital to piecing together the puzzle that is the timeline of the story. This is done perfectly! So many times, I get bored of certain aspects of a story and rush through to get to my favourite characters. Not with vicious! With Vicious, I knew I needed to take in every word to get the full experience.

The prose is poetic, the humor dark and the moral ambiguity running through the plot leaves you second guessing any loyalty that you hold for your chosen protagonist.

The extraordinary abilities add an element of the fantastic whilst the old rivalries add a very human aspect. Victor is the fictional embodiment of the term anti-hero, becoming the character you hate to love but root for anyway.

I cannot wait to pick up more of Victoria Schwab’s writing this year and I’m feeling pretty pleased with myself for picking this as my first read of the year. Good choice me.

So what has been your favourite read of the year so far? Any recommendations? 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

